The Catholic Church recognizes seven sacraments, instituted by Christ Himself, which are outward signs of an inward grace acting in our souls. 

The seven sacraments of the Catholic Church are Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Communion, Reconciliation, Marriage, Holy Orders, and Anointing of the Sick.

Becoming Catholic 

Adults wishing to become Catholics must enrol in the Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA). The Christian initiation of adults is a marvellous opportunity for any parish and is a complete sharing of faith. When an adult wants to be initiated into the Christian faith, the RCIA group in the parish help this person make their journey. It is a PUBLIC JOURNEY, i.e. all the parishioners are aware that a person/people are preparing to become members of their church.  The journey of a catechumen (one who has never been baptised), involves the needs of the person and the requirements of the RCIA process.   

What is this journey like?
It is a journey whereby the person becomes like us in the way we worship. Our sense of discipleship is deepened as we make the journey with the individual or a small group. The RCIA programme gives us the road map.

It is not just a transfer of knowledge - it is about faith.
It is not an academic programme - it is a way of life.
It is about learning the language, customs, ways and values of a true Christian.
It is an apprenticeship of love to a new way of life.

During this period the person only stays as far as the readings at Mass. Then they are led out to join the R.C.I.A. Group in the parish. 

Acceptance into Order of Catechumenate - Ceremony takes place publicly
Period of Catechumenate - Reflecting with the Group on the Gospel - after a Sunday Mass.
Election of Enrolment of Names - This takes place in the Pro-Cathedral on the 1st Sunday of Lent, it is the only thing that happens at a Diocesan level and all else is at parish level.
Purification and Enlightenment - During Lent, on the 3rd, 4th and 5th Sunday of Lent, ‘scrutinies’ take place, i.e. presentation of the Creed and the Our Father.
Sacraments of Initiation - At the Easter Vigil, the parish priest has permission to administer the Sacraments of Baptism, Confirmation and Communion.
Mystagogy - Reflection on the mysteries that have happened.

Marital Status may in some instances not permit Initiation or Reception. Early clarification is vital.
Unbaptised Adult. It is never envisaged that a priest baptises an adult and subsequently seeks delegation to confirm. Adults should receive the three Sacraments of Initiation in one ceremony.
Baptised Adult. It is important to establish all the facts regarding ones baptism.
Minors - If the candidate is under eighteen years of age, the parents or guardians should be informed.

%sacraments-image-2 -alt%